Skip to Content

Santa Barbara Scholarship Foundation honors 25 student artists

art 8
Isaac Hernandez
Twenty-five talented students received $2,500 scholarships from the Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara for their outstanding artistic skills.
art 6
Isaac Hernandez
art 7
Isaac Hernandez
art 4
Isaac Hernandez
art 3
Isaac Hernandez
art 2
Isaac Hernandez
art 5
Isaac Hernandez
art 1
Isaac Hernandez
The winning students' art submissions will be displayed Santa Barbara Museum of Art's Family Resource Center through January 27.

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara honored 25 student artists during a presentation and reception at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on Thursday.

Each of the students submitted a piece of art to the Foundation's 2020 Art Scholarship Competition. A panel of local artists judged the submissions at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art's Ridley-Tree Education Center at McCormick House. This year's judges were Anthony Askew, Ginny Brush, and Patti Jacquemain.

70 total students participated in this year's competition. The official judging took place on January 16.

Of the 70 submissions, 25 were chosen to receive a $2,500 scholarship. The best of show winner received an additional $1,000 on top of that.

The winning art submissions are also to be exhibited in the museum's Family Resource Center through January 27.

“We have held this event for 41 years now, and the winning submissions are always impressive,” said Foundation Board Chair Christie Glanville. “We are proud to recognize these extraordinarily talented artists and provide them with scholarships.”

The winner of the Schall Family Best of Show Prize was Evan Sherman, a senior from Santa Barbara High School.

The other 2020 Art Scholarship winners are:

  • Aidan Barcia-Bacon (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Nicole Borden (Bishop Garcia Diego High School),
  • Kristopher Boris (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Charlie Buckingham (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Autumn Coulter (Dos Pueblos High School),
  • Zach Dinklage (San Marcos High School),
  • Emmanuel Flores Garcia (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Amelie Funk (Dos Pueblos High School),
  • Emma Gobbell (Providence High School),
  • Hunter Gomersall (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Magdaline Rose Gooch (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Jacob Grossi (Dos Pueblos High School),
  • Henry Haber (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Kylee Heather (Dos Pueblos High School),
  • Chloe Herdrich (Providence High School),
  • Owen Keithley (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Grace Lewis (Carpinteria High School),
  • Angel Uriel Mateo (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Andrew Mazlumyan (San Marcos High School),
  • Teagan Moehlis (Dos Pueblos High School),
  • Maleeha Mustafa (Dos Pueblos High School),
  • Veronica Sanchez (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Morgan Thornley (Santa Barbara High School),
  • Madison Young (San Marcos High School).
Article Topic Follows: Education
high school
santa barbara county

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

Jessica Brest

Jessica Brest is a digital journalist and assignment editor for NewsChannel 3-12. To learn more about Jessica, click here.


News Channel 3-12 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content