Skip to Content

California to Raise Minimum Wage to $10 Per Hour

Gov. Jerry Brown has just signed into law a bill that hikes California’s minimum wage to $10 an hour within the next three years.

The governor signed the bill at a ceremony in downtown Los Angeles Wednesday.

The measure will raise the current minimum of $8 an hour to $9 next July, and then to $10 an hour by January 2016.

The governor said it’s an effort to help working-class families.

“It’s a matter of justice and it goes with Proposition 30 last year to bring us all just a little bit closer as Californians,” said Brown.

It’s the first increase in California’s minimum wage in six years.

But, many restaurant owners say their industry is in for a big shake up because much of their staff is minimum-wage tipped employees.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

News Channel 3-12

Email the News Channel 3-12 Team


News Channel 3-12 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content