Skip to Content

Youngest members chosen to lead new Isla Vista Community Service District

Isla Vista Community Service District board members were sworn in on Tuesday night.

The board members include Ethan Bertrand, Spencer Brandt, Jay Freeman, Fr. Jon-Stephen Hedges, Natalie Jordan, Robert Geis and George Thurlow.

Geis represents the county of Santa Barbara,Thurlow represents the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Their first order of business was choosing a board president and vice president. They voted for the board’s youngest members.

Ethan Bertrand was named President and UCSB student Natalie Jordan Vice President.

Both want to give the community a local government and a local voice.

Although Fr, Jon said the board was a long time in the making, many people including Williams believe the Isla Vista Tragedy, that left six USCB students dead, helped garner community wide support.

In November, voters approved the district, but not tax-based funding.

UCSB has agreed to make an annual donation.

A start up fund has been created and is seeking donations.

For donation information call (805)957-1301. Checks may be made out to Isla Vista Community Development Corporation-IVCSD Fund.

The board will be meeting the first and third Tuesdays of the month at 6 p.m.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

News Channel 3-12

Email the News Channel 3-12 Team


News Channel 3-12 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content