Did Taylor Gustason actually touch the ball before it went into the net and if so, was there even enough time?
Those questions may never be fully answered but what is known is that Dos Pueblos won a wild and controversial Channel League boys water polo game 14-13 at rival San Marcos.
With .2 seconds left in the game DP keeper Ben Cable launched a hail mary toward the Royals goal and Gustason reached up to tip it in. However our video appears to indicate that he never made contact with the ball before it went into the goal. The ball has to be touched much like it would be in basketball on an inbounds pass.
San Marcos also argued that the pass could not had traveled the length of the pool, be tipped and then go into the net all in .2 seconds.
The officials met after the stunning play and ruled that Gustason did in fact make contact with the ball and in time to give the Chargers the dramatic win.
DP looked like they had it wrapped up after leading 13-10 with 2:45 left.
But the Royals were within one goal when Trevor Ricci tied it at 13 with less than a second remaining.
But instead of overtime DP pulled out the stunning victory.